275 Bay Street,

Ottawa, Ontario

K1R 5Z5 Canada

Tel: 613-238-4870 press 4

Fax: 613-236-2727

Email:  ccil-ccdi@intertaskconferences.com


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2014-2020 Intertask Conferences. All rights reserved.

The Eighth International Four Societies Conference
Fostering a Scholarly Network: The "Four Societies" Initiative 
June 16-17, 2020, Berkeley, California

Convened by:

The American Society of International Law (ASIL)


In Cooperation with:

The Australia and New Zealand Society of International Law (ANZSIL)

The Canadian Council on International Law (CCIL)

The Japanese Society of International Law (JSIL)


Hosted by:

University of California, Berkeley, School of Law

Berkeley, California

Call for Abstracts Now Closed

The Four Societies Initiative

The CCIL, in association with the American Society of International Law (ASIL), the Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law (ANZSIL) and the Japanese Society of International Law (JSIL), participates in an innovative initiative involving new and emerging scholars, and others, from each of the four international law societies.  A workshop is hosted every two years for the presentation of original works and the exchange of views.  There have been seven events to date: New Zealand (2006); Canada (2008); Japan (2010); USA (2012); Australia (2014); Canada (2016) and Japan (2018).

We are delighted to hear that selected papers from the sixth workshop will become a book to be published by Cambridge University Press. We congratulate the editors Neil Craik, Cameron Jefferies, Sara Seck, and Tim Stephens.

Past Canadian participants in the “Four Societies” initiative include:

Round 1 (New Zealand, 2006): Natasha Affolder (University of British Columbia), A. Neil Craik (University of Waterloo), Craig Forcese (University of Ottawa), Joanna Harrington (University of Alberta)

Round 2 (Canada, 2008): Barnali Choudhury (Queen Mary University of London), Jaye Ellis (McGill University), Graham Mayeda (University of Ottawa), Christopher Waters (University of Windsor)

Round 3 (Japan, 2010): Ljiljana Biuković (University of British Columbia), Charles-Emmanuel Côté (University of Laval), Robin Hansen (University of Saskatchewan), Dwight Newman (University of Saskatchewan)

Round 4 (USA, 2012): Catherine Gribben (Canadian Red Cross), Ilario Maiolo (Canadian Red Cross), Ibironke Odumosu-Ayanu (University of Saskatchewan), Katie Sykes (Thompson Rivers University)

Round 5 (Australia, 2014): Cameron Jefferies (University of Alberta), Tahnee Prior (Balsillie School of International Affairs), Sujith Xavier (University of Windsor)


Round 6 (Canada, 2016): Patricia Galvao Ferreira (CIGI); Matthew Levine (University of Toronto); Nicolas Lamp (Queens University); Maria Panezi (CIGI)

Round 7 (Japan, 2018): Charles-Emmanuel Côté ( Laval University); Armand de Mestral ( McGill); Miriam Cohen (University of Montréal); Ryan Gauthier (Thompson River University );. Zhannah Voukitchevitch (University of Ottawa) et Jason MacLean (University of Saskatchewan). Read more about the 2018 Conference

Resulting Publications: