top of page

CCIL Awards for Excellence in Scholarship

To recognize the work of Canadian scholars of international law, each year, the CCIL conducts a competition for scholarly books or for scholarly papers that make a substantial contribution to the international law literature.​

CCIL Scholarly Book Award


The Scholarly Book Award is conducted every two years for scholarly books that make a substantial contribution to the international law literature.​ 

Deadline extended to May 30, 2024

Any member of CCIL may submit a book published during the two calendar years prior to the year of the award. Thus, books eligible for the 2024 award will be published in 2022 or 2023. 


  • The same book may not be submitted more than once. Co-authored books may be submitted if the primary author is eligible to submit a book. The committee will only accept one book per author.  Edited or coedited books will not be accepted.  Dissertations published as a book are accepted.

  • If the selection committee determines that none of the submitted books in a competition makes a substantial contribution to the international law literature, it may decline to select any book for the Award. The selection committee may use its own discretion in making these determinations and the decisions of the selection committee are final.

All submissions must be made by May 30, 2024.


Mail five (5) copies of the book to:

CCIL Scholarly Book Award 2024

c/o Intertask Conferences
275 Bay Street, Ottawa, ON  K1R 5Z5 Canada

(Deliver to downstairs reception)

If you are shipping from outside Canada, please ensure that you

authorize to be billed for any import duty as the CCIL will not assume costs.

* Ensure your CCIL membership is up to date at the time of your submission.

For any questions, please contact at: with the subject line: CCIL Scholarly Book Award Submission.

bottom of page