Pursuant to the CCIL's Constitution and By-Laws, the organization is managed by a Board of Directors of not more than thirty-six members and no fewer than eight members.  The by-laws also include a number of persons as ex officio members of the Board of Directors as follows: the Legal adviser of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade; the Associate Deputy Minister of Justice Canada responsible for international law, the President of the Société québécoise de droit international and the immediate past president of the Board of Directors.


Directors are elected for three year, renewable terms from among the CCIL membership and shall, as much as possible, reflect equitably Canada's two official language groups, and the gender, geographic distribution and professional origin of the CCIL's membership.


The CCIL's officers -- a president, a treasurer, and a secretary -- are drawn from the members of the Board of Directors and are appointed by that body for three year terms

Executive Committee:




Payam Akhavan | University of Toronto

Anik Beaudoin | Justice Canada
Marie-Claude Boisvert | Global Affairs Canada
Victoria Clark | Government of Ontario, Ministry of International Trade
Miriam Cohen | Université de Montréal
Charles-Emmanuel Coté | Université Laval
John Currie | University of Ottawa 
Robert Currie | Dalhousie University
Armand de Mestral, Prof. | McGill University
Geneviève Dufour | Président Société québécoise de droit international
Scott Fairley | Cambridge LLP
Craig Forcese | University of Ottawa 
Patricia  Galvao-Ferreira | University of Windsor
Amanda Garay | Global Affairs Canada
Ryan Gauthier | Thompson River University
Catherine Gribbin | Canadian Red Cross
Joanna Harrington | University of Alberta
Adrienne Jarabec | RCMP
Alan Kessel | Legal Adviser, GAC
Nicolas Lamp | Queen's University
Annie Lesperance | Bentham IMF
Céline  Lévesque | Université d’Ottawa
Alexandra Logvin | Fasken Martineau
Ilario Maiolo
Tamar Meshel | University of Alberta
Alison Mitchell | Global Affairs Canada

Justin Mohammed | Amnesty International Canada
Dan Moore | Justice Canada
Valerie Oosterveld | University of Western Ontario

Nancy Othmer | Assistant Deputy Minister Public Law and Legislative Services Sector, Justice Canada

Pierre-Olivier Savoie | Savoie Arbitration

Penelope Simons | University of Ottawa 
Érick Sullivan | Laval University
Gib van Ert | Gib van Ert Law
Angela Veitch | JAG, Canadian Armed Forces

Anne Warner La Forest | University of New Brunswick

Céline Lévesque


Céline has been a professor at the University of Ottawa for over 20 years and has held the position of Dean of the Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section, from July 2014 to July 2019.



Alexandra Logvin


Alexandra is a graduate of the University of Ottawa and the State University of Belarus. She earned a Masters of Laws degree from the University of Ottawa, focused on commercial arbitration between foreign private investors and states. 


Victoria Clark


Victoria is legal counsel with the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada in Toronto. She holds a BA in Political Science from the University of Western Ontario and a JD from the University of Ottawa, where she specialized in international law.


CCIL Secretariat

c/o 275 Bay Street

Ottawa, Ontario

K1R 5Z5 Canada

Tel: 613-238-4870 press 4

Fax: 613-236-2727


Support the work of the CCIL!

The Council is registered as a Canadian charity with the Canada Revenue Agency. The CCIL charitable registration number is 118830595RR0001

© 2014-2020 Intertask Conferences. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon